History And Roles

With a population of over 170 Million, Nigeria is the most populous nation in Africa. It has a landmass of 923,768 square kilometers, ranking as the tenth largest country in the world. Having an annual population growth rate of 3.2%, she is one of the countries with the fastest growing populations in the world.
Nigeria's multi-ethnic people are distributed along six geo-political zone comprising thirty six (36) States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) of Abuja, namely: North East, North West, North Central, South West, South East and South-South.   Each zone consists of contiguous States and their boundaries are distinctively delineated. There is considerable difference in climatic conditions, vegetation, culture, tradition and belief. Below is the map of Nigeria showing six geo-political zones, the thirty six (36) states and the FCT.

Our Contacts

Clerk, National Assembly
Room 1, New Senate Wing