News Post

Know Your Parliament

Speaker, House of Representatives Emerge

Speaker, House of Representatives Emerge

Following the official Parliament Proclamation by President Muhammdu Buhari which was read at the inaugural session of the Assembly by the Clerk to the National Assembly, Sani Omolori, the stage was set for members-elect of the 9th House of Representatives to elect presiding officers to pilot their affairs for the next four years.

 After taking a roll call to recognize the members in attendance, the Clerk announced that a quorum has been obtained to allow for the continuation of the proceeding.
According to the Clerk, 360 members, who were present are expected to cast their votes for their most preferred candidates in a secret ballots, in line with existing laws and rules that govern legislative affairs in the House. The race for the speakership had the former Majority Leader of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila (Lagos, APC) and Umar Bago (Niger, APC).

Hon.  Gbajabiamila, polled 281 votes over his opponent’s, Mohammed Bago  76 votes to secure the position of the Speaker, House of Representatives.

Share this Post: